The Kenwood Electric Food Mixer, Model A200

4 thoughts on “The Kenwood Electric Food Mixer, Model A200”

  1. Thanks for this – I really enjoyed it. I have most things that Kenwood made in their days up to maybe the 80s (and quite a bit of what Sunbeam and KitchenAid made in their early days,too.) I have 2 of the A200, one with the bowl and both running – you did a wonderful job on yours – have you ever considered doing one for someone else, as I really would like to restore one of mine ? Did you polish the metal trim or have it redone ?

    1. Thanks for the message, I’m pleased you enjoyed this post. Wow, it sounds like you have quite a mixer collection! Have you documented it anywhere online? I’d love to see what you have. I’ve only restored mixers for my own amusement and aren’t really interested in restoring for other people – although happy to offer advice or suggestions where I can. The A200 was fairly straightforward to restore, and I would encourage you to have a go yourself. Compared to the A700 it is easy to pull apart. What I did was clean and rewire the motor and transformer (you may need to find some new carbon brushes if yours are worn down), removed and cleaned the gears and re-greased the gearbox, had the painted body parts commercially sand-blasted and powder coated, and polished the Bakelite and shiny metal parts on a buffing wheel. Bakelite is tough and can stand polishing on a soft cotton buffing wheel with a fine polish (I used a blue very-fine polish bar for the Bakelite and the side chromed decorations, and white polish bar for the front aluminium dome). I hope you will be encouraged to have a go at restoring one of your A200s. The results are definitely worth it!

  2. Such beautiful images of the Kenwood A200. As you say, there are not many of them around. I am doing a PhD on the Kenwood Chef and would like to talk more if you have time? I am based at the Science Museum in London

  3. Thanks. A PhD on the Kenwood Chef, wow! I’d like to hear more about that – I’ll get in touch with you via email.

Leave a comment